Sunday, January 17, 2016


Tokyo1980 - On 8tracks

Track Listing: 

  1. Behind The Mask - Yellow Magic Orchestra
  2. CARNIVAL - Taeko Ohnuki
  3. Shinzo No Tobira - Mariah
  4. Heidenröslein - Miharu Koshi
  5. Rose Garden - Akiko Yano
  6. Pavement Midday - Rajie
  7. Now And Then - The Beatniks
  8. Kaze No Tani no Nausicaa
An 8 track sampler of synthpop (or techno-kayo) from the 1980's. Expect lots of production from YMO members like Sakamoto and Hosono (except Shinzo No Tobira) and some kitschy francophilia from Miharu Koshi. 

My standout tracks include the utterly unique feudal-meets-future new-wave of Mariah's "Shinzo No Tobira, and Akiko Yano's "Rose Garden" that just plops itself everywhere. 


No comments:

Post a Comment